Tear stained D’s

With each D a person is freed
Freed from their pain, from their shame, their secrets
No further hiding
No more walking in the dark
With just one letter, a seemless symbol on a page

The D is for dry 
Dry is everything 

Tears overcome the spaces in my eyes 
These professional eyes are not exempt from emotion, beit joy, sadness or blatant injustice
I check and observe 
I assess and remark
With increasing joy I reach the fifth, in whose column, sits the letter D

The D is for dry 
Dry is everything 

With each D I place in the streamlined column, I smile 
Each look I get from the woman before me, I smile 
Until my smile bubbles up and cracks in to tears 
Fistula going , fistula healing, fistula gone 
She is released

The D is for dry 
Dry is everything 

I sit and stare at all the Ds in a line 
amazed at all these little dancing symbols on a page 
That the future of a women can rest in that shape 
Knowing that her skirt will remain dry 
That her husband will look her straight in to her eyes 

D is for dry 
Dry is everything 

D means hope, a surgical success and life
D denotes dryness for one whom was once wet
D is the freedom key for one who was tied up in pity
D shows the world that they fought and won

D is for dry 
Dry is everything 

Let the dancing break forth, let the ‘D’s’ flourish, let the smiles erupt
Let them drop on to the paper 
one by one,
those little,  joy filled 

Tear stained D’s 
  

Leave a Reply

